Caister Academic Press

Major Nematode Infections

Hany M. Elsheikha
from: Essentials of Veterinary Parasitology (Edited by: Hany M. Elsheikha and Naveed Ahmed Khan). Caister Academic Press, U.K. (2011)


Classification of nematodes has been traditionally based on the presence or absence of a posterior cuticular chemoreceptor called 'phasmid'. Nematode species with phasmid are known as phasmidea (Secernentea) and nematodes that lack phasmid are called aphasmidea (Adenophera). It is important to realize that the parasite taxonomy is an evolving field and there is no a single scheme that is always acceptable. Class Nematoda encompasses numerous species that infect livestock and companion animals. This chapter focuses only on the most economically important nematode infections in livestock and companion animals. General taxonomy of nematodes considered in this chapter is given to the genus level read more ...
Access full text
Related articles ...